Author Topic: What is furling, what is it used for.  (Read 1482 times)

Valduare

What is furling, what is it used for.
« on: September 18, 2005, 05:52:36 PM »
Hello all i am new to this subject and have been doing quite a bit of research latly. i am intrested to know what the furling i am hearing about on the tails?
« Last Edit: September 18, 2005, 05:52:36 PM by (unknown) »

Shadow

Re: What is furling, what is it used for.
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2005, 12:05:05 PM »
« Last Edit: September 18, 2005, 12:05:05 PM by Shadow »

MountainMan

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2005, 06:50:25 PM »
Simple answer: Furling is used to prevent your windmill from self destructing in high winds.  It causes the blades to move out of their normal 90 degree relation to the wind direction to a less efficient angle, which reduces the turning speed and saves the wind mill from spinning itself apart.

jp

« Last Edit: September 18, 2005, 06:50:25 PM by MountainMan »

Derodeo

« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2005, 01:51:54 AM »
I'm just starting to educate myself in the realm of wind power generation but I think it's interesting that some blade manufacturers seem to feel that their blade design makes a furling system unnecessary. For example the guy who runs tlgwindpower.com states that his blades loose their efficiency at higher winds speeds and simply slow themselves down thus providing overspeeding protection without a furling system. I can see this as being a very nice feature but is for real??

« Last Edit: September 19, 2005, 01:51:54 AM by Derodeo »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2005, 03:10:37 AM »
Yes it may be for real if you keep it small and can live with the noise.

Don't do it on anything over 5ft and don't do it within 2 miles of me and you may be ok.

Things like the old Air 303/403 did just that and they didn't do much to enhance the credibility of wind power.

Flux

« Last Edit: September 19, 2005, 03:10:37 AM by Flux »

Warrior