Author Topic: Generator made from wound rotor induction motor  (Read 8350 times)

Janne

• Turbiini
    • My image gallery
Generator made from wound rotor induction motor
« on: March 02, 2008, 08:41:00 PM »
Hi guys!

I've got a large wound rotor generator, from a rather large windmill. Unfortunately it's busted, beyond possible repair. But to convert another motor for it I really needed to study the blown one further, to learn how the rotor is connected.

The generator I'm studying is an old 33kW, 950rpm(6pole) motor. It's been converted to work like a car alternator, supply DC to the field coil, and it makes 3 phase AC current. The beauty of this design is, that the windmill output is very easily controlled by varying the current supplied to the rotor, (or field coil). The stator is just like in a normal induction motor.

This is the generator I'm talking about. Most likely due to too high RPM's the field windings had came loose, and caused a catastrophic failure. It's got 3 sliprings in the rear part of it, originally used for soft starting purposes.

Finally after almost a days work the rotor is out of the motor. It has 72 slots on it, each slot has 4 turns of wire in it. Each coil in the rotor has 16 turns, so it occupies 4+4 slots. (4 going forward, and 4 coming back) I'll call these sets of 4 slots "bundles", so there is a total of 18 bundles in it. These coils of 16 turns are obviously wound in the factory, and they have not been tampered with. Instead, all that has been done is that the coils start and end leads have been reconnected.

Part of an old note, made by the guy who had done the conversion. The numbers there state the bundles, for example 1 means the start of coil 1 and 4 means the end of coil 1. It's rather confusing, but I hope you can follow. The dotted lines state about the required changes in the original connections. It would be easier to