Author Topic: Cleaning up output from a modified sine wave inverter  (Read 21102 times)

tony t

Cleaning up output from a modified sine wave inverter
« on: December 14, 2006, 07:15:52 AM »
Morning,

I have a cheap 12v dc 3000 watt inverter ( power jack) that produces a modified sine wave, i was wondering is it possible to clean up the output to make it more acceptable for more electronics.

Or do i have to buy a expensive pure sine wave inverter

I am just starting out in RE

This inverter was one i used for small power tools.

Just received my neo magnets yesterday for building Hugh's 4 foot genny.

Purchased them in the USA and had them shipped to UK. It was still cheaper than buying them in the UK( we get so ripped off!)

Cant wait, also just been given 10 kg of resin ( used in the electrical nindustry for underground joints on high voltage, need to look at the spec a bit closely) this might save some cash.

Anyway going away to work now

Regards

Tony

« Last Edit: December 14, 2006, 07:15:52 AM by (unknown) »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Cleaning up output from a modified sine wave i
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2006, 02:06:19 AM »
tony t;

I think that you got what you got there. With the right 1:1 transformer you might knock some of the edges off the waveform. About the time you get it tweaked, it will probably die anyway.

However, I think there is a LOT of misinformation out there on how "bad" cheap inverters are for electronic devices.

I used one for years running computers, televisions, stereos and the like with absolutely no problems. These devices had switching power supplies in them which seem to eat whatever you feed them.

Motors, however, do not like them much and run hot.

Opinions vary on this so I just cite my real world experience running cheap inverters. I now have a sweet 2.5 kw Outback and it runs anything I want it to run within reason. Of course it took a big wet bite out of the budget. Silly expensive hobbies I seem to have.