Author Topic: seris sole panels  (Read 3238 times)

thirteen

• Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
seris sole panels
« on: February 15, 2015, 10:33:51 PM »
I tried to look up some more information on solar panels. I am putting up panels that will be wired in series three per series then to a combiner box then sent down to my power house to the charge controler. Outback Flex 80.  These will be 255w 8.4 a 30v  panels. I have never done this before so will the wiring need to be changed to a slightly heavier wire? I am trying get a higher voltage because of the distance I must go 575 ft. 4 panels tied together gets the voltage to high to control safely. 3 seems to work out better on paper. My inverter is a Magnum RD 3924. I thought I had better ask before I have magical music of frying wire?  13
MntMnROY 13

lifer

Re: seris sole panels
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2015, 03:45:47 AM »
You won't have frying wires but voltage loss. If you already have the wires, look up for their electrical resistance per foot then multiply it with the total wires length and panels current (8.4A). Now you've got the voltage drop across the wires. Multiply it with panels current and you've got the power loss through wires. If you could live with that there's no wire changes required.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2015, 12:03:13 PM »
How many series strings do you have in parallel? you will have 8.4 times the number of parallel strings to deal with so work out the volt drop for the total current and see if it is reasonable.

It is a long run so cable will be expensive so tolerating a bit more loss will likely be cost effective.

Somewhere at the back of my mind I am suspecting that not all of your strings will be in sun at the same time, if this is so then calculate it for the number of active strings at one time.

Flux

thirteen

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2015, 01:21:40 PM »