Author Topic: Wind Turbine Air Compressor  (Read 17689 times)

F0ggy

Wind Turbine Air Compressor
« on: December 25, 2015, 07:21:17 PM »
Hi all, first post here but I have been creeping around these forums for a few years now.

Thought I would share my current project of building a direct drive wind turbine air compressor. To get the initial efficiency comments out of the way... Yes, compressed air is the actual form of energy I need stored so this seems to be the best route with my location.

Bit of background: I live in a town where the average wind speed is South West 16-22kts from May till September. Spring and Autumn are neutral and then the wind switches to North East for the winter thou less consistent than the Summer. The Summer inflow begins around 11am, ramps up till 3:30pm, holds for a few hours and then backs off at 7pm. This incredibly predictable wind attracted Windsurfers in the 80's and 90's and then Kiteboarders in 2001 and on. The popularity in the summer here has jumped so much that crowding on the beach has become a safety issue for launching and landing the kites. One way to alleviate this issue was to provide compressed air to inflate the kites much more quickly then the regular hand pumps and get sailors off the beach quicker. This has been run by a gas compressor for the last two years and has proven a necessity for organization and safety.

Our air consumption changes drastically depending on user volume, day of the week, weather conditions, wind speeds (kite size) etc... So for simplicity the goal is to have this turbine operational with no CFM target in mind. Our storage tanks are 930L (2 x 420lb propane tanks) What ever the turbine can supplement to the gas compressor will be a great starting point.