Author Topic: Fisher and Paykel Tests  (Read 1076 times)

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Fisher and Paykel Tests
« on: September 23, 2003, 04:10:50 PM »
Well, folks, I got myself a nice F&P Smart Drive motor through my vast connections online.

I looked at lots of info on them. Well "lots" is relative since there is not a whole lot published about them just yet.

It is a radial design. Mine has 42 coils of 1.6 mm wire [thats .062 in inches or about #16]. Its 3 phase with 14 coils per phase. The coils have 42 wraps each in two layers. The rotor has 14 of what appear to be ferrite or ceramic magnets.

This picture shows the unit the way it came via UPS.

I studied it awhile and did some preliminary tests once I figured out how to assemble it. Stock it has way too much resistance in the phases for RE use. I got a box of terminal blocks like these below on EbaY to break out the coils so I could wire them as needed to get the right output levels.

Thats not my stator its a picture I found someplace online. Mine currently looks very similar.

After thinking about it awhile I decided to split the coils out into pairs. This gave me individual pairs that were .3 ohms by my meter.

I built a test jig to hold the bearing assembly so I could test a coil pair in the drillpress at known RPMs. Following is the data I have so far:

One coil pair connected to a 35 amp bridge:

210 RPM:

No load

AC volts into bridge: 3.4 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 2.9 VDC

1 ohm load on DC side of bridge:

AC volts into bridge: 3.1 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 1.4 VDC

Amps into 1 ohm: 1.5 Amps DC.

305 RPM:

No load

AC volts into bridge: 5.4 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 5.0 VDC

AC volts into bridge: 4.5 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 2.5 VDC

Amps into 1 ohm: 2.7 Amps DC.

450 RPM:

No load

AC volts into bridge: 7.55 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 7.0 VDC

AC volts into bridge: 5.6 VAC

DC volts out of bridge: 3.4 VDC

Amps into 1 ohm: 3.5 Amps DC.

900 RPM:

No load