Author Topic: WIldblue Going Away  (Read 1958 times)

RogerAS

WIldblue Going Away
« on: August 29, 2006, 02:08:39 AM »
Hey all,

After the 5th no show for a tech to look at my disfunctional wilblueyonder internet access I am ending the service. I cannot miss any more time from work, even though the internet is a major part thereof. I've been fighting with them for over 2 months now about the dropped signal, e x t r e m e l y  s l o w  speeds, and timeouts with no results. They admit there is enough of a problem to grant me 2 months credit, but I don't want credit I want access I can use. I cannot even listen to Real Audio feeds, packet losses and dropped connections make that a frustration from hell.

I'm going to try to get a complete refund, but I will settle for just getting away from them and out of the contract.

I may be the one person that has had such terrible results but I could never reccomend Wildblueyonder to anyone.

Since I may only have limited access for the next day or so I want to ask some questions.

What alternatives exist for someone with no land lines. I can see a cell tower from my house. I need the net for work so please provide alternatives. I might even consider another satellite service. Suggestions? Ideas? Wisp? Buy a laptop & use a cell connection?

I may only be able to view the board occasionally for a while (please hold your applause) but know I'm still out there keeping an eye on y'all!

Hugs & Kisses,

« Last Edit: August 29, 2006, 02:08:39 AM by (unknown) »

Volvo farmer

Re: WIldblue Going Away
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2006, 08:53:26 PM »
Did you look at the EVDO forums link I gave you last time? That's what I'm using, through Alltel, thought Sprint and Verizon also have plans. My (rural) area does not have true broadband over celltowers, I get 150K max down, so it's slightly better than dialup. At $60/mo I could get much faster service through satellite... not for 3 watts though.