Author Topic: Toasted my new MPPT booster  (Read 17209 times)

elt

Toasted my new MPPT booster
« on: October 05, 2007, 02:44:02 PM »
Thank you!

This is where I write "I'm not an electrical engineer." I like to build and I try to learn how things work but I think that learning how they fail is even harder.

What happened?

I've a few diary entries on building a low-wind MPPT booster for my 10' mill. I finally got one built and connected up.

I tested the booster first on a fairly calm day with my batteries set up for 12 volts. The booster pulled a little power out of the mill below cut in and it worked very well getting nice power out of the mill in that region around cut-in where the peak volts are above cut in but the RMS volts aren't. We had two calm days and I left it working like that.

I woke up early on the third day and switched the batteries over to 24 volts because higher winds were forecast. I reprogrammed the booster with double the voltages I was using at 12 volts. (And that may have been a mistake that allowed the booster to stay on too long since there wouldn't be twice the voltage drop in the diodes.)

As a 24 volt system, cut in is about 250 rpm. As the wind began rise, I noted the booster was making about 3 amps at 170 rpm and 75 watts is just about what Alton's blade calculator says a 10' mill should make at that speed. Great! But I didn't see any more wind and I'd been so eager to play with the mill that I hadn't even had any coffee so I head back to the house. I'd only gotten a few feet when I heard the wind pick up so I went back; when I entered the shed I smelled the "magic smoke." The boost led LED2 was out, the user interface LED1 was stuck on and the unit was unresponsive to button presses. Poking fingers at it, the heat sinks were only very slightly warm but the microcontroller was warm almost to the point of being hot. Darn...

I've tested out the board and found three failures: