Author Topic: Small gasifier update  (Read 2326 times)

(unknown)

Small gasifier update
« on: October 11, 2009, 01:45:23 PM »
I completed system mounting on the trailer. I still have to add fire tube, grate, burner door, fan, engine, and PMA.  

I am using high temp silicone covered with aluminum duct tape to ensure all the welds are air tight.

Does anyone have any experience with DCEP (reverse polarity) MIG welding?  The Harbor Freight MIG welder I purchased is wired straight polarity.

« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 01:45:23 PM by (unknown) »

PeterAVT

Re: Small gasifier update
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 04:39:12 PM »
I have 20 years experience welding -- just retired recently. What would you like to know about the welding? Your setup looks interesting. They used to gasify coal too, years ago.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 04:39:12 PM by PeterAVT »

KilroyOdin

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 04:49:57 PM »
Hi, I found this link that says all MIG welding should reverse polarity (DCEP). Based on what the says I think my MIG is wired wrong. Do you agree what the link is saying?  

http://www.weldreality.com/ehauststraighpole.htm

« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 04:49:57 PM by KilroyOdin »

PeterAVT

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2009, 08:10:04 PM »
The reasons that he gives on the site are OK, but there's lots of different ways to do things. Some kinds of MIG work one way, and other kinds work the other way.