Author Topic: Drum heaters burning WVO glop logs  (Read 4579 times)

Todd T

Drum heaters burning WVO glop logs
« on: January 03, 2008, 11:56:57 PM »
I've been running WVO in my diesel truck for years. As a result, I've accumulated three drums of assorted waste oil glop... hydrogenated oils and fat. I don't want to try to burn it in my truck but I've heard folks make great logs out of this glop. Add it to some wood chips and pour into a milk carton... voila... hot burning logs!

I want to use these logs in a 55 gallon drum type heater, the type kits you see advertised as kits from Northern Tools and other places.

Any suggestions regarding the pipe going through to the outside? My warehouse is brick and the only place I have any wood is a 12" panel above one door.

I understand these WVO logs burn really hot. Can these drum heaters handle it?

I've read this site for years but this is my first time to join and post. Thanks in advance for any help.

« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 11:56:57 PM by (unknown) »

sk windpirate

Re: Drum heaters burning WVO glop logs
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 07:51:19 PM »
I Use wood heat in my home "Pure wood" I don't think the 55 gal drum is the weak spot. I would be more concerned about the chimney. That black oil will burn VERY dirty.

The extra heat will keep the stove clean, but to get that much heat up the chimney might cause a fire. The bigest concern is where the chimney go throught the "wall / Roof". Thats where the proble may show up. "LIKE A FIRE"
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 07:51:19 PM by sk windpirate »

richhagen

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2008, 07:54:50 PM »