Author Topic: Woodstove gasketing  (Read 3343 times)

redwelte

Woodstove gasketing
« on: March 19, 2008, 05:14:35 AM »
Greetings all,

I have a Vogelsang woodstove that I have been using for about 2 years. It works well, but one of the issues I have is getting smoke in the house if I burn wet wood (sometimes it's all I can get). The chimney has to go through three 90 degree turns to get to the top, so I'm wondering if that might be a factor (which is difficult to change, as the stovepipe goes out the back of the stove, up to the heat robber & damper, then out through the wall & turns again to vertical)

I thought about some gasket stuff between the pipe joints & the elbow that comes off the stove (where most of the leaking seems to occur). I tried some Permatex hi temp car exhaust goo but it got hard & flaked off. Got too hot I guess. Then I tried some of the asbestos door seal rope glue. It worked a little better but again gave up after about a month.

I would like some suggestions if there are compounds that are better than others for this application. I have the cheap black stove pipe now, but plan to upgrade to galvanized or better, before next winter.

Thanks for your help.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2008, 05:14:35 AM by (unknown) »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: Woodstove gasketing
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 12:32:12 AM »
High temperature silastic, but is your flue lagged? the gases may be getting too cold and depositing the Tar in the pipe, forerunner for a fire in the flue.

Is the top of the flue open with an all round cap so that wind from a certain direction can not put back pressure on the flue?

allan down under

« Last Edit: March 19, 2008, 12:32:12 AM by wpowokal »
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

zeusmorg

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 05:24:58 AM »
  It sounds as though your chimney doesn't have positive draft.