Author Topic: subterranean homes  (Read 8905 times)

hrspwr

subterranean homes
« on: October 01, 2004, 09:44:32 PM »
 I clicked into the housing category and nothing showed up,so I thought I might start something on subterranean dwellings. My long term goal is to homestead in the sunbelt and build a nice underground home. I want to have three sides of the house below grade, one facade [entrance] at grade. I don`t want the roof underground but maybe 1 to 2 ft above grade. The roof would be standard truss construction sheethed and sealed. The roof would actually support a large PV array and active solar heating system. The roof PV and collectors will shade the roof in the summer,bonus. I would also like to use radiant floors on geo-thermal for summer cooling. I am a self employed master plumber and want pipes everywhere. If anyone would like to exchange ideas or experiences please share, thanks.  
« Last Edit: October 01, 2004, 09:44:32 PM by (unknown) »

chibear

Re: subterranean homes
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 11:03:35 AM »
I have been in a couple earth sheltered houses. The biggest problem for the owners has been waterproofing, mainly in the roof. Since you intend to use a "normal" roof, this should not be a problem. Since you are in the sun belt, I would suggest you consider hefty roof insulation, possibly even R60 &/or look also into radiant barriers.

Concerning using your radiant floors for cooling, I have researched this with some professionals. They state 2 problems: (1) the cooled air will have a tendency to pool at floor level, so for it to work at all you would need some sort of fan circulation; (2) if you live in an area of normal or high humidity, there is a possible problem with condensation on the cool floors.

I am no master plumber, but was able to set all my radiant tubing myself with little hassle. The biggest help I found was an uncoiler, which you probably already have. It will just be another day in the job for you.