Author Topic: ok heres a good ? !!!  (Read 1702 times)

mccoyxx

ok heres a good ? !!!
« on: November 15, 2006, 08:49:27 AM »
Ok ppl I'm new to the Otherpower world...but extremely interested in going off the grid and was reading a post about hydro ...well would this work and if so would it be sufficient to power a home??  ok lets say someone has a well in they're yard and just for argument sake lets say if they didn't they would get one dug out about 20-30 ft. deep ...and they decided to try to use that for electricity because its just sitting there...is it possible that they could get like 2 or 3 or maybe even 4 or 5 depending on how deep it is small hydro pumps and mount them in intervals in like an aluminum or pvc pipe (whatever size the diameter of the hydro generator would be or if not available find a way to seal the gap between the hydro and pipe so all available water flow goes through the generator)then get a biodiesel water pump or possibly an efficient electric one to pump the water up from the well and drop back into the pipe..if the generators are small enough thus the diameter of the pipe being small too it shouldn't take much flow to keep it full...the pressure of the water falling down the pipe would give like a waterfall effect and water following gravity downward would propell the hydros??? or even better couldn't you just connect the pump directly to the top of the pipe and make sure its sealed good to create a type of forced induction system??? ...this may be in no way possible to get more power out of that than you would put in...but it seems plausible to me !!naturally it would more than likely require quite a large battery bank to store enough electricity to power a home I know...but it could work all night while not much power is being consumed from the home and top the banks off...I know it would be somewhat troublesome to do if it was possible and probably a little on the expensive side to fabricate the entire thing(especially if you had t