Author Topic: Floating water wheel  (Read 1830 times)

anthonyvega

Floating water wheel
« on: December 15, 2008, 08:50:06 PM »
Hi everyone!  newbie here.  We have a year round creek which we'd like to use to help power our home.  The idea was to use a waterwheel to recharge a set of batteries.  Can a waterwheel charge a huge set of batteries?  We typically work out of our house, with several computers going at the same time occasionally during the day.  all heat and cooking is natural gas, so no needs there.

The thing about the creek - its level changes all the time.  So i was thinking about a "floating" waterwheel.  Has anyone ever heard of such a thing?  could it generate enough power?  I read one post about a toy aircraft propeller, though I think there is too much debris for that.  There are several spots in the creek that are quite swift.

Not quite sure how to calculate the head and flow either, its not falling water, like the other water wheels seem to use...?

Any of your comments or suggestions are quite appreciated, we really are looking forward to this if its possible.

Anthony

« Last Edit: December 15, 2008, 08:50:06 PM by (unknown) »

Muiller

Re: Floating water wheel
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2008, 03:12:10 PM »
There are floating water wheels out there.Dont know anything about them but here is a link,it does not give any info but the picture might help http://www.navitron.org.uk/page.php?id=72&catId=70
« Last Edit: December 15, 2008, 03:12:10 PM by Muiller »

hydrosun

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 06:13:03 PM »