Author Topic: Waterwheel to run generator  (Read 7025 times)

billyjoebobd

Waterwheel to run generator
« on: June 20, 2008, 01:12:23 AM »
I have not found any articles which address this idea.

I've been looking at the ST generators from China. My plan is to create a diversion weir, with a cinder block shed next to it to house the generator. Not sure about the run length to the cabin as it is not built yet, and this idea is in its infancy. The creek flows year round and is about 15-20ft wide and 4ft deep on average. Not sure if I have enough head for an overshot wheel, but plenty of flow for a paddle or undershot wheel.

My question: Has anyone had experience with this setup? Is this a stupid idea? I am assuming a paddle wheel would generate enough HP to drive a large generator, say 20KW. I know there will be issues with freezing in the winter, unless I could somehow use the dump load to heat the weir and or wheel.

I'm not an electrical engineer or mathematician, and am not trying to offload the research. I'd just like to know if I'm wasting my time.

Thanx for any help.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 01:12:23 AM by (unknown) »

nick1234

Re: Waterwheel to run generator
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 10:37:02 PM »
before you start to build anything take some measurements head lowest flow to see what you may have is this river on your property (your rights)

how cold does it get in winter freeze up is there good flow at this time under the  ice  take pictures summer winter

them come back with the info and then we will be able to help you

nick

qc.ca.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2008, 10:37:02 PM by nick1234 »

billyjoebobd

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2008, 06:00:03 AM »