Author Topic: Powering my RV  (Read 3479 times)

Daddy2Cool

Powering my RV
« on: September 12, 2005, 09:02:10 PM »
       I am new to this very informative site and after reading several posts have decided that I can power my trailer with the power of the creek beside it.Although I haven't yet measured the flow and head of the creek (still reading how to do this) I can tell you that it is constant and rises by about 1 foot max at any given time of the summer.Directly below my RV are some rapids that I would estimate fall approximately 4-6' over a 30' section (not at once but gradually). The creek averages about 20-25' in width and has a very strong current.

There is no electricity on the property so we run our trailer with propane and 12VDC. I do have a small 5.5W  solar panel that I use to trickle charge my marine style battery but would like to design a simple system that would provide enough power to keep the battery (or batteries if that is part of the solution)at a full charge when used frequently.

We use our trailer up until the snow flies, so the demands of the fan on the trailer furnace can empty a fully charged battery very quickly.

Although this is my private property I cannot dam the creek, but I could divert some flow to create a small channel for some type of wheel to drive a generating device.

We have purposely never investigated the thought of bringing in electricity because of A: the cost and more importantly B: ruining the natural beauty of this property we call paradise.

So if any of you out there have an idea for a small, enviromentally friendly way to do this I would be very grateful.

Thank you in advance

Scott

PS> I have pictures of the creek if that helps at all

« Last Edit: September 12, 2005, 09:02:10 PM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Powering my RV
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2005, 12:47:58 AM »
If you have a 4 ft fall you should be able to do something worthwhile.