Author Topic: Hydro Options  (Read 3682 times)

wind4Reg

Hydro Options
« on: August 16, 2006, 05:39:06 PM »
Hello, I recently aquired property that butts onto my current property on which there is a large brook flowing. I am new to HydroPower, usually I am in the wind section of this board, so I was wondering what possibilities this new aquisition might bring for hydro power. The section of the brook that flows along my property has zero head. It also appears to be fairly slow flowing in my section. There are other parts of this same brook that are flowing at a much more rapid pace. This brook is about 25 feet wide and approximately 4 feet deep in the center, about 2 feet deep along the banks. This means that there is a very large volume of water flowing.

Does this sound like it would have much potential given the zero head and slow moving water?  
« Last Edit: August 16, 2006, 05:39:06 PM by (unknown) »

hobot

Re: Hydro Options
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 07:53:44 PM »
No one responding eh. There were some good posts/photo's on

various hydro systems this year, here, try to search em

up for some leads. One was made using s automatic transmission

converter from junk yard and car altenator. Scroll thru meassages

a few weeks back should hit it.

hobot

« Last Edit: August 16, 2006, 07:53:44 PM by hobot »

elvin1949

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2006, 06:01:23 AM »
wind4Reg

A few question's

Does this stream of water run threw your property,

or is it on the property line.

How far is it from the downstream property line

to the upstream proprety line.

How much drop in elevation from upstream line

to downstream line.[from pictures in your files

not much]

Just a shot in the dark a flow of stream system

is called for. 4 or 5 amp's ain't much BUT 24/7

it add's up guick.

A few picture's would help,and where are you.

later

elvin
« Last Edit: August 17, 2006, 06:01:23 AM by elvin1949 »

scottsAI

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2006, 11:56:01 PM »
Hello wind4Reg,