Author Topic: Mini turbine for mains pressure shower  (Read 8192 times)

JCET

Mini turbine for mains pressure shower
« on: January 31, 2007, 11:23:40 AM »
Hi All,

I wish to make a small inline turbine to run an LED light in my shower. The LED light uses about 4.2W and the shower is supplied by mains water at good pressure. (sorry dont know the exact pressure figure).

Im a mechanical engineer so the turbune part for me is easy but would like a bit of help with the electrical side. What would be the best thing to use as a generator?

I should be able to get a high rpm from this so would a small dc motor be the best bet?

Any suggestions/thoughts would be a great help!

Thanks,

Jason.

« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 11:23:40 AM by (unknown) »

Titantornado

Re: Mini turbine for mains pressure shower
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2007, 07:22:38 AM »
I really can't offer a solution to your request, but I can say that you'll probably be kissing that water saver showerhead goodbye, (if you use one) if you continue forward with this plan.  Remember, wattage equates to a combination of pressure and flow.

I'm pretty conservative with water and energy, and keep my showerhead throttled back pretty tight. (probably around 1~1.5 gallon per minute, but never checked) I doubt there would be a workable solution in my case.

« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 07:22:38 AM by Titantornado »

JCET

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2007, 07:42:57 AM »
I was hoping that the turbine would also act as a flow reducer. The shower head I have uses a flow reduction valve for home use anyway as it works on low pressure. (its designed for RV's) And so the turbine would replace this and give me some power too??
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 07:42:57 AM by JCET »

Bruce S

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
  • USA
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2007, 11:56:39 AM »
Jason;

As a fellow ME, I think this would be a good tset of your milling skills :-)

It only took me a few decades to finish mine....