Author Topic: Micro Hydro Help Needed PM Motor  (Read 1971 times)

rtompkins

Micro Hydro Help Needed PM Motor
« on: July 17, 2008, 06:37:34 PM »
Hi,

I am very new at all of this but here is what I've got.  I bought a 100Watt 24v Permanent Magnetic Motor, I welded a shaft and attached a turbine.  I hit the turbine with my water hose and it spins like crazy.  When I connect a 12v light bulb it lights up bright as can be.  I also connected it to a multimeter, I have no clue what setting to put it on but I tried the V... set at #20.  The display reads 15.4 when I run the turbine.

I have a 12v deep cycle battery that I would like to charge.  Could someone please tell me specifically what else I need?  I'm guessing something to drop it down to 12v?  Some sort of regulator?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Rich

« Last Edit: July 17, 2008, 06:37:34 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: Micro Hydro Help Needed PM Motor
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 12:50:30 PM »
"100Watt 24v Permanent Magnetic Motor"

would that happen to be a dc Permanent magnet motor?? it kinda matters on how to hook it up.

if it is a pm dc motor then you just need a blocking diode in series with the motor then just hook it direct to the battery and if you spin it fast enough you will start to charge the battery.

the battery will hold the voltage of the motor down to its level until it gets full at that point you will need a dump/diversion controller with dump load. a user here goes by the handle ghurd sells handy little dump controller kit and resisters for a dump load that would work pretty good for a 100w setup

« Last Edit: July 17, 2008, 12:50:30 PM by kurt »

rtompkins

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 01:33:37 PM »