Author Topic: Whats the best generator for me ?  (Read 4130 times)

gone fishin

Whats the best generator for me ?
« on: August 25, 2009, 08:06:59 AM »
Hey sorry if this topic is talked about elsewhere on other threads.  I am new to hydro generators.  I was hoping to get some feedback on what might be the best generator for my needs.  

The one thing i really have going for me here is a creek with major head and flow. I have rigged a firehose about 250 up the creek and am using it on my land for hosing off muddied concrete etc... i put a cone nozzle on the firehose and the pressure i have shoots a powerful stream laterally about 60 feet before it hits the ground.

Basically my question is what would be the best hydroelectric generator (or generators) i could get to produce 5k to 10k watts of electricity.  Between our house and another building (our business) we sometimes use alot of electricity.

Whats the best type of generator ?  What are some good sites to look at that sell these generators ?  Would attempting to home build 1 or more of these generators be feasable ?  

Thanks ...its been tuff figuring this out on internet searches.  Any help is appreciated.  

« Last Edit: August 25, 2009, 08:06:59 AM by (unknown) »

Basil

• 3 rd shift made me this way.
Re: Whats the best generator for me ?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 07:44:16 AM »
Found this with 3 chicks. Lot's fo info.

http://www.fieldlines.com/story/2009/7/27/2359/13783
« Last Edit: August 25, 2009, 07:44:16 AM by Basil »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 08:09:10 AM »
gone fishin;

Always use the Google search the board link. The "internal" Scoop search is terribly bad and we really should just kill that link because it causes a lot of confusion.

ADMIN, are you listening?

Tom

« Last Edit: August 25, 2009, 08:09:10 AM by TomW »

kurt

• website
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 08:32:11 AM »