Author Topic: Portable Solar Powered Lighting  (Read 2732 times)

GeoJohn

Portable Solar Powered Lighting
« on: June 28, 2005, 09:55:01 PM »
I recently got a request for expert advice on installing a battery and flourescent lighting in an enclosed trailer used for camping. (Never tell anyone you are an Electrical Engineer, or you will be asked for that sort of help, I am an Embedded Electronics Engineer from now on.)

This is the application: A scout troop owns a very nice enclosed trailer in which they use as full time storage for all of their camping equipment such as tents, cooking gear and other scout type stuff. They set up a cooking area outside for adult and troop meals. They want 1 or 2 lights in the trailer that operate on a switch and will be only used intermittently, and approximately 5 lights to mount outside under a tarp. The outside lights will operate 4 hours a day for up to three days. The trailer is used approximately every three weeks.

My suggestion was to get a deep cycle battery and charge it after each trip and top it up before. I could not recommend flourescent lights because it has been a very long time since I explored that technology. They want to go with a solar panel on the roof of the trailer and avoid the charger completely.

Can anyone suggest a source for decent 12 volt flourescent lights, and offer advice if the wattage rating is actual power consumption or the bulb rating? Also, a source for solar panels that can be mounted on the top of the trailer and not get destroyed by bouncing and flexing would be great.

I really would appreciate advice from someone who has set up a similar system in a boat or cabin.