Author Topic: Arctic coastal Alaska is very windy  (Read 4399 times)

Miztiki

Arctic coastal Alaska is very windy
« on: January 26, 2007, 11:33:59 PM »
New member here. I signed up the other day as I'm just beginning to learn about alternative energy. The next day my husband came home with some major news. He was given the possibility of working and living in extreme northern Alaska on the coast of the Beaufort Sea (Arctic Ocean) for a few years. Brr.

I have to do my research and share it with him so that we can make a decision.

I did a quick google search and learned that the area is a level 7 (or whatever), meaning that it has the best winds for generating electricity on a scale from 1-7.

I checked the Weather Underground archives for wind speeds in the area and wow, it's windy. Here's January 2006 as a starting point but you can click on any month for data:

http://www.wunderground.com/history/airport/PABA/2006/1/26/MonthlyHistory.html#calendar

Then I did a search for wind power already being implimented in that area. I didn't find anything but on the other hand, it's extremely remote, so there's not much going on.

I was wondering if you might have any idea if wind power would work there? I know basically nothing about that part of Alaska and just as much about wind power. I don't know if the -75 degree (max winter lows) to +75 degree (max winter highs) temps would make it impossible, or if any other factors would make it unrealistic (aside from the logistics of getting it there). There's very little precipitation, only 5"/yr (20" snow).

If it's not possible then I won't waste my time researching it. If it is possible then please let me know and I will begin researching (along with so many other things!). I tried to find info but everything I read talked about big wind turbines that sweep a large area and slow wind speeds. This apparently would not be the case in this location.

Thank you very, very much in advance for your help!

Miz