Author Topic: Using this small stream  (Read 1009 times)

wjoerob

Using this small stream
« on: May 15, 2007, 09:36:46 AM »
Day after day, I look at this small stream that passes through my property, and I think, "There's gotta be a way to use the power from that thing!"  Maybe 15 ft. wide, no much head or fall, 2-3 ft. deep at points.  But it's alway flowing, all year long.  I'm not a big techie, but willing to learn.  Any of you more experienced types have any ideas of what direction to go, what type of system will work best?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2007, 09:36:46 AM by (unknown) »

alancorey

Re: Using this small stream
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 03:52:13 PM »
I think the consensus will be that you aren't providing enough information.  Maybe there isn't much more available, but you're in a better position to provide it than anyone is to guess.

If a couple of numbers are known that makes it a whole lot easier.  One is the head, or difference in height between where it comes onto your property and where it leaves.  You can get fancy and use a transit, or boards, strings and a level, whatever.  Even looking at contour lines on a topo map is better than nothing.  You say there isn't much head, but some people might say that about 6 inches and others about 6 feet.  We don't know what you mean, and you may not, but that number is one of the factors in the equation for estimating how many watts you'll get.

The other main thing to know is the flow rate.  Assuming this is too big to hold a bucket or barrel under, can you measure the flow with a weir?  I'm lucky in that all the water through my brook runs under a bridge through a 5 or 6 foot diameter culvert, so I could walk down inside the culvert and hold a 5 gallon bucket out to catch the water.  2 seconds and it was full, so that's about 150 gallons/minute.