Author Topic: Force required to turn generator turbine  (Read 11474 times)

davidclayton

Force required to turn generator turbine
« on: September 20, 2007, 02:30:34 PM »
Hi all,

Complete newbie here, just doing some very rough research on coming up with ways to save the planet!

Where can I find out what force is required to turn a generator turbine by a liquid? (Hydroelectric generator may be sufficient), and what amount of electricity/power is generated?

I know that all generators require different amounts of force to starting making electricity, but where can I find these statistics? I guess I'm looking for detailed statistics documents on a Hydroelectric generator.

Just to get the research kicked-off, info on one generator (of any size) would do for the moment to get some very rough calculations made up - I don't need a range of generators to compare.

All advice greatly appreciated.

Dave

« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 02:30:34 PM by (unknown) »

feral air

Re: Force required to turn generator turbine
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2007, 09:24:03 AM »
It's totally variable and there's no simple answer. A dripping facet could power a generator if it was small and efficient enough.

I think you need to work it from the opposite angle. Figure out what you've got to work with first, then find the generator to match. If you've got a pond up on a hill, say, and an oultet pipe some distance down hill...how many gpm comes out and at what pressure?

I'm not a hydro guy and I know just enough about electricty to electrocute myself so..yeah, take that for what it's worth.

« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 09:24:03 AM by feral air »

davidclayton

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 09:38:31 AM »
I get what you are saying about starting the other way around, but in my case I do not have any pond/hill/river in place. I am researching a thoery, so amount of liquid pushing against the turbine in not yet definited.