Author Topic: Wiring alternator in star.  (Read 1709 times)

davidjramos

Wiring alternator in star.
« on: April 26, 2008, 05:38:06 AM »
I'm a defintite newbie to wind turbines. I'm really trying to learn about the alternator wiring. I have not found a clear concise diagram of how to wire the alternator in either star or delta (at least not on the internet). I'm pretty sure I know how to do it correctly, but is there anyhwere I can get good schematics and photos. Everyone really seems to gloss over this subject when telling of the stator building process. I've seen all the leads connected to lugs on the stator and so forth, but still a little ambigouus on the connections and where to make them. Any advice on where to find this info would be appreciated. Books, internet, manuals, whatever.

Thanks, Dave
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 05:38:06 AM by (unknown) »

commanda

Re: Wiring alternator in star.
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2008, 01:07:31 AM »
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 01:07:31 AM by commanda »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2008, 01:12:41 AM »
With a 3 phase winding you have 3 identical windings spaced 120 electrical degrees. Each has a start and a finish.

For star you join all three starts together and take the output from the finishes or vice versa.

Simple as long as you arrive at the first bit correctly. Some windings have an electrical displacement of 60 deg and that requires a different connection to get 3 phase winding. I don't want to confuse things here, if you are building an axial dual rotor machine common here that issue never arises. If you are doing a motor conversion then it becomes a possibility.

There are plenty of connection diagrams for star and delta here if you can find them.

Flux

« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 01:12:41 AM by Flux »

CmeBREW

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2008, 08:29:21 AM »
Did you read this? It has simply wiring diagram explaination for Star or Delta:

http://otherpower.com/stator.html