Author Topic: 24 volt system with 12 volt parts?  (Read 820 times)

WineGuy

24 volt system with 12 volt parts?
« on: April 29, 2008, 03:37:50 AM »
Newbie here  <-----

I noticed from the latest poll that most folks are using 12 volt systems. I assume that this is because it is easier to build a machine that produces 12 volts at a lower wind speed. Is this generally correct?

I know that 24 volt systems have less line loss. What other reasons are there that you WOULDN'T go with 24 volts?

The reason I am asking is because of the following. I have a few DC motors that look like they will do well for a 12 volt system given the average wind speed for my area, but I have access to some parts for a 24 volt system, including batteries and inverters.

Does it make sense to use this combination, or is it more problems than it's worth?

Would I need a DC to DC converter to charge the 24 volt batteries if I get them?

Do I add a second gen or solar panels and run two sets of 12 volt batteries just to use the inverter ?

Any thoughts would be helpful.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2008, 03:37:50 AM by (unknown) »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: 24 volt system with 12 volt parts?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 11:19:44 PM »
I suspect it has much to do with what purpose people are putting their system to, if it's a few lights or a weekend cabin then 12V seems logical.

If you intend to power a home then 24v would be a minimum.

There are many more 12v, off the shelf components than any other voltage, so for a small installation that makes sence.

If you have a 24v inverter and batteries you need a 24v charging source.

allan down under

« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 11:19:44 PM by wpowokal »
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: 24 volt system with 12 volt parts?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 01:47:38 AM »