Author Topic: Charging batteries.... is this a good idea?  (Read 1087 times)

zephyr

Charging batteries.... is this a good idea?
« on: June 18, 2008, 02:06:00 AM »
My work requires that I drive at least 1-2 hours every day.  So I thought about putting a couple of batteries in my van and charging them as I drive.  When I get home, then have a wire from my inverter that connects to the batteries still in the van (which are now disconnected from the regular charging circuit of the van) and use this to run some lights or appliances in the house.  I have to drive anyway so I figure the van can charge the batteries for a minimal decrease in fuel efficiency.  If this is a bad idea let me now.  But be nice this is my first time posting.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 02:06:00 AM by (unknown) »

jonas302

Re: Charging batteries.... is this a good idea?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 08:23:23 PM »
It would be great if you could keep track of your fuel milage for a week or with and without the extra batteys I don't think it will affect it much but truthfully if you lost even a gallon a I dont think it would be worth it unless of course your off grid $4 here buys almost 4khw of power which if I'm thinking right would be 10 100watt bulbs on or 4 hours

Please post any results if you do it
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 08:23:23 PM by jonas302 »

joestue

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2008, 08:27:27 PM »
It's still a load on the engine, one thing i did with my Toyota was rewire the alternator regulator to full excition when my foot was on the brake, and engine rpm was above 1000 rpm. didn't see any increase in gas mileage, it's a .1% effect on a truck with no electrical load.

Basically the alternator is 70-50 % efficient, and gasoline is $4 a gallon, the engine operating at 15-20% efficiency at normal high way driving. (28% max at 3/4 of full throttle).