Author Topic: Why Battery Bank  (Read 970 times)

Airwreck

Why Battery Bank
« on: August 06, 2008, 04:43:58 AM »
OK I will admit that I am a total noob to this stuff.. in the beginning of learning.

I know most folks are going to think my questions is stupid.. but if I don't ask stupid questions I won;t learn nothing.. GRIN..

Anyway I live in Barbados and in the process of building a home here.. the house in on the east coast and gets the trade winds all year round.. Simply put we have wind 24/7

At the present I am not sure of the wind speed but I think its a constant 5 to 10MPH wind.

So if I build a wind generator why would I need a battery bank???

Thanks

Eric

« Last Edit: August 06, 2008, 04:43:58 AM by (unknown) »

zeusmorg

Re: Why Battery Bank
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 01:24:09 AM »
 Several reasons, First off 7 mph average windspeed is not going to give you much useable energy. And even if your wind was constant, is your useage?

The ideal is to build a wind machine that produces constantly, needs a small battery bank, and your usage is very even. Also a battery system tends to smooth out your dc current. You want your system to input  more electricity than you use, due to losses in wiring and components.

Without a battery bank, you would have NO storage, and no capability to use more electricity than the windmill was currently outputting. You would also loose any electricity not used. You will also need some sort of dump load to use any excess you are not able to store.  

A smaller bank has some better efficiency due to charging/discharging losses, however it also has a limited ability to store needed energy.

Hopefully your windspeed is greater than you think. It can be measured using an aneomometer, or conversely you can get windspeed data from your local weather station, which may not be accurate for your given site.