Author Topic: Digging A Well For More Head Question  (Read 1081 times)

ACDC

Digging A Well For More Head Question
« on: August 24, 2008, 10:09:41 PM »
Hello    Im new to these otherpower forums so please dont bite if my questions belong in the "catalogue of stupid questions entry numbers 1000 - 10,000,000 dept".

I have been reading a book called: how to dig your own well. The instructions given in the book explain a simple technigue to bore an 8inch hole 30ft down using a hand auger and a post hole digger with some steel pipe extentions. It occured to me that 30ft of head gives a fairly decent amount of power for a modest flow of water flowing through a property. The question would be how to get the water back up the hole after it hits a pelton generator at the bottom of the well. A ram pump then came to mind which as far as i understand uses little to no power.

Im sure i cant be the first person to think of this idea to create more head by cheaply digging a well and maybe im barking up the wrong tree here but my question is this:

Is this idea flawed in any way or is it a mad but workable idea for those wanting to use hydro power but dont have enough head on the stream/river they want to exploit?.

Regards

ACDC

« Last Edit: August 24, 2008, 10:09:41 PM by (unknown) »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: Digging A Well For More Head Question
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2008, 06:09:11 PM »
What is your source of water?

It occures to me that if you have suficient water to run a ram pump then raising the water to an elevation of 30' is smarter.

allan down under

« Last Edit: August 24, 2008, 06:09:11 PM by wpowokal »
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

spinningmagnets

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2008, 08:12:25 PM »