Author Topic: Newbie setting up HF solar kit - need baby sitter  (Read 2413 times)

Newbie setting up HF solar kit - need baby sitter
« on: October 07, 2008, 09:41:41 PM »
We just built a 2 car garage connected to the ally behind our house.  There is no electric hooked up and the cost is 1200 bucks to run electric to the garage.

The garage does have a 3/4 hp 5 amp garage door opener.  I want to power this opener with solar.  I won't be using power in the garage for anything else aside from low wattage lights.   The garage is for car storage only.  No power tools, no saws, etc.

Right now I am looking at the 45 watt harbor freight system.  From what I have read on this board the controller is a POS.  I figure I would try the controller.  I sell used auto parts for a living so I do have a lot of car batteries that I can use for the system.  Would this system power my garage door opener?  I would use the car batteries at first and then go for a deep cycle battery.

I have a 1000 watter inverter that I hooked up to a 12v car battery and it powered the garage door opener. I used the opener up and down about 10 times.   The problem with the inverter is that once turned on it has a fan that runs constantly.  Is there any inverter that does not run constantly?  I am worried about it eating up all my power.

My plan is to mount the HF panels on the roof facing south, mount the battery on a shelf in the garage with the controller and inverter.  Run power cord to the garage door opener and thats it. Anything else I am going to need?  Am I missing something?

« Last Edit: October 07, 2008, 09:41:41 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: Newbie setting up HF solar kit
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 04:07:05 PM »