Author Topic: alternators f or a newbie  (Read 2694 times)

wyliang312

alternators f or a newbie
« on: November 12, 2008, 01:22:58 AM »
Hello

I notice a lot of people making their own alternators for wind turbines. I am new to this field and want to try building an alternator. I was wondering what equations are being used and, in general, how to being. I want a logical approach that makes me understand everything not just go onto a website and get materials and build one. I would like to know how each step and part affects each other

Please send me some equations on how to start.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2008, 01:22:58 AM by (unknown) »

Spaz

Re: alternators f or a newbie
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 07:39:24 PM »
Well I'm not very good with equations so I can't help you there, but I think someone with a little disipline and mechanical skills one can easly grasp the basics here. Just start by reading! Theres a ton of info here. If you want to learn about wind start in the wind section of Forcefield. Your wind genny will be uniquely yours wether you build it from scratch or do a motor conversion that will be up to you. No one will build it for you unless there getting paid. You have to learn to walk before you run. My first wind mill is more or less a lawn ornament but we learn from mistakes and move on.But if you have any specific questions many here will be happy to help you so read, read, read.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 07:39:24 PM by Spaz »

wyliang312

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2008, 07:49:03 PM »
I guess I should be more specific. I was wondering how to determine the amount of windings, how big of a magnet is etc. I've read a lot of the posts and saw what was created but not sure how the numbers came to be or why they chose that part. so it would be nice if someone said "start off with __ and then from that you know to__" so any starters would be nice! thanks a lot
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 07:49:03 PM by wyliang312 »

zeusmorg