Author Topic: If we use a DC motor for generator  (Read 2253 times)

acidman

If we use a DC motor for generator
« on: December 03, 2008, 03:51:28 PM »
Hey all i have question if we use a DC motor and make the shaft move with windmill rotor and blades and then connect the battery with same power terminal going in the motor, as soon as the battery is charged wont that make the motor moving with the battery power?

Please help me im new with this,

All your comments and suggestions are welcomed

Asad Naeem

« Last Edit: December 03, 2008, 03:51:28 PM by (unknown) »

spinningmagnets

Re: If we use a DC motor for generator
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 10:11:03 AM »
Without diodes (a type of "one-way" electrical flow device) the wind-gen will spin as a motor by drawing power away from the battery. If wind is driving the output to a level that is higher than the battery, then the wind-gen will be charging the battery.

As the wind-gen begins spinning it will put out low voltage, and as its spins faster the voltage will rise. "Cut-in" is when it finally begins making more volts than the battery voltage, so it can begin charging.

You need to use a charge controller. This will allow the turbine to begin spinning without any load on it, it will direct charging to the battery when its spinning fast enough, and it will divert the charging to a dump load after the battery is full (to prevent overcharging the battery and damaging it)

If you don't have a dump load and the battery is full, removing all loads in a high wind can cause the turbine to spin too fast and self-destruct. Most successful designs use a "furling" mechanism that turns the turbine away from the wind when winds are too high.

I hope I said this right (I'm fairly new, also), best of luck.

« Last Edit: December 03, 2008, 10:11:03 AM by spinningmagnets »

CmeBREW

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 07:28:00 PM »
Yes, you must have a diode or multiple diodes hooked up in parallel to handle more amps.