Author Topic: How many circuits do you run?  (Read 860 times)

WineGuy

How many circuits do you run?
« on: December 31, 2008, 10:54:33 PM »
Newbie here, but have been reading posts for a year or so.

I have one solar panel with inverter (120 volt 2 circuits just for lights). I am working on a small wind generator, and have inherited a 7.5 kw generator with a transfer box. The generator is wired for 220 VAC. Now for the questions.

I want to hook up the generator in parallel with the inverter to power the cabin. I also want to install a "normal" breaker box in the cabin using 220 VAC.

I have read here that you can not connect the 120 VAC outputs "in series" to produce 220 VAC because you will blow out the inverter.

What kind of inverters do you guys use? How many outputs?

Do you run just multiple individual circuits, or do you run through a normal breaker box?

Any thoughts would be helpful.

« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 10:54:33 PM by (unknown) »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: How many circuits do you run?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 08:02:11 PM »
Guy;

We have an Outback FX2524 inverter. 2500 watt at 24 volts. Pure sine wave. Very nice unit.

I don't run much off it compared to some, anyway.

I run the output to 5 breakers that control circuits as follows:

1 has 2 freezers and intermittent shop tools on it.

1 runs the house fridge, an answering machine and the house Sat TV receiver as well as the house TV when power is available by switching which outlet the TV power strip is plugged into.

2 for my office power 1 for each of 2 walls of outlets run from the inverter. These have intermittent loads like computers, network hardware, etc running off them. As well as a couple of devices that run 24/7 for my network hardware WIFI access points, the office TV equipment, etc. And, of course, on cruel, hot sunny days I can run the window AC to cool off the well insulated office and not drain the batteries too bad.