Author Topic: Sheet Metal for use in Mag. Rotors?  (Read 3436 times)

Wes

Sheet Metal for use in Mag. Rotors?
« on: May 05, 2009, 12:51:17 AM »
I cut 12" diameter discs out of 1/8th" sheet metal (mild steel I'm guessing) I got from a local hardware store. One of the discs is slightly bowed such that when it is laying face down on a table I can push the center down a bit.

How bad would it be to go ahead and cast the magnets on the metal discs and hope that the casting and mold will be strong enough to hold the metal flat?

p.s. This is my first attempt making an axial flux alternator.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 12:51:17 AM by (unknown) »

hiker

• BIG DOG
Re: Sheet Metal for use in Mag. Rotors?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 08:44:39 PM »
kinda thin for a 12" rotor--can you double up?

ive used doubled up saw blades in the past--with fender whashers for

added stringht...i only use one hole in the center for  mounting...

« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 08:44:39 PM by hiker »
WILD in ALASKA

Electron Pump

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 08:49:12 PM »
  Hardware stores charge a premium for steel. Call a lockal steel destributer. I bet you can get the thicker stuff way, cheaper. Steel is down right now.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 08:49:12 PM by Electron Pump »

Wes

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 10:15:19 PM »
I can double up...I am guessing you just bolted the two together if you were using washers to hold the two together? How did you cast two discs with bolts through them? Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 10:15:19 PM by Wes »

Wes

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 10:27:30 PM »
Good point. The only metal cutting tool I have is a jig saw, it'll probably cut 1/4" thick, but I've never tried cutting anything that thick. I could just take is slow, and buy a few metal cutting blades in case the 1/4" stuff eats them up.  
« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 10:27:30 PM by Wes »

hiker

• BIG DOG
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2009, 12:08:15 AM »
no cast...