Author Topic: help with axial flux [CLOSED]  (Read 12404 times)

xclr82xtc

help with axial flux [CLOSED]
« on: December 06, 2009, 01:53:03 AM »
can someone PLEASE go over the basic axial flux designs for me!!! i have been online for over 12 hours, and i have found ALL kinds of data. im a mechanical engieering student. for my final project im machining, building, a 0 friction maglev VAWT. as the average wind speed here in NC is only 8 mph. a VAWT will work best. maybe even hooked to a gear box. anyways, i was originally thinking of doing the standard sandwich style. then i started thinking that i would do it by turning the sandwich on its end (so i only need one rotating plate), then i saw the cog design, then i am stuck trying to figure out what size wire and how many turns  i should use, then i started looking into grid inverters...GOD HELP ME lol

ok..im going to bed.

jc

« Last Edit: December 06, 2009, 01:53:03 AM by (unknown) »

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: help with axial flux
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2009, 06:10:28 AM »
what is the time frame for your project

what is the budget.

maglev is sexy but have you got the time to experiment?

« Last Edit: December 06, 2009, 06:10:28 AM by electrondady1 »

xclr82xtc

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2009, 07:07:43 AM »
i got all semester, i did the design last semester in design 2. now im in design 3, and we have to do the project. i wouldnt say its an "unlimited" budget, but realistically i'll spend whatever. I plan on using it for grid power, so i want it to be done right. not to mention i wouldnt mind selling them lol
« Last Edit: December 06, 2009, 07:07:43 AM by xclr82xtc »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2009, 08:31:10 AM »
"i did the design last semester in design 2. now im in design 3"

What part(s) is designed?

Everything has to play well together.

The part(s) that is designed will determine everything else.