Author Topic: AC versus DC cable, energy loss  (Read 8370 times)

(unknown)

AC versus DC cable, energy loss
« on: February 10, 2010, 09:53:36 AM »
 I have building a VAWT for a while, just beginer there. I put my turbine on the shed and run AC wires for about 30 ft. to my basement.

I just want to ask which AC or DC curent loses more energy versus travel, because I could build bridge rectifier on turbine frame if AC loses more of it's curent.

I am not very good at it, so any advice would be helpful.

Thank you

Vilius

« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 09:53:36 AM by (unknown) »

birdhouse

• Portland, OR USA
Re: AC versus DC cable, energy loss
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 07:09:13 PM »
vilius-

AC current travels much better over distance.  if your turbine is AC (guessing it is) then you would be better rectifying just before the battery bank.  what kind of power have you seen out of you VAWT?  just curious.

let us know how it turns out!

birdhouse

« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 07:09:13 PM by birdhouse »

independent

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 08:23:13 PM »
My understanding is AC is better for changing voltage and up and down as transformers can be used. However, voltage loss over distance is decided more by how many volts you have in relation to cable size. That is relatively high voltage will lose far less potential energy over a long distance compared to a relatively low voltage (depending on cable size) whether it's AC or DC. Because AC is usually higher voltage then it follows that it travels well and as an added advantage will be able to be transformed to a lower voltage with little loss and simply.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 08:23:13 PM by independent »

joestue

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 08:53:58 PM »
Rectify at the turbine and save yourself 33% on the copper.

Better yet use aluminum, its cheaper.

« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 08:53:58 PM by joestue »