Author Topic: Advertising on fieldlines  (Read 795 times)

Tom in NH

Re: Advertising on fieldlines
« Reply #33 on: June 02, 2006, 10:03:40 PM »
I don't think I would find plain relevant ads objectionable. There are a couple ramifications you might want to consider though. If the ads are effective, they will steer readers away from your site. I'm no expert, but something in my gut tells me this is not a good thing. I don't know how much income ads like that generate, but you might think about how that income would compare with increased sales if you were to put your own ads for your own products up instead. That would help steer readers to your products and services instead of your competition's, and it might be more profitable. Another thought I have is it doesn't really matter what people say about whether ads would be objectional or not. Ultimately they will vote with their feet, or with their mouse clicking fingers, rather. You may find that placing ads may change the character of more than just the looks of your website. It may also change the character of your readership. You may lose readers with one set of interests and gain readers with another set.  -tom
« Last Edit: June 02, 2006, 10:03:40 PM by Tom in NH »

Volvo farmer

« Reply #34 on: June 02, 2006, 11:09:01 PM »
You know, I thought ads were a great idea until I read this post. Tom's got me wondering. You might also consider doing what Jarrod on the Brickboard does. He's solicited "donations" to the tune of $3000 already twice. Now he's on the third round and was up to $2800 last time I checked. Granted Volvo owners might be a little more loose with their checkbooks than homebrew RE guys but I guarantee, if you solicit donations, you will get them. Whether or not they compare to Google ad revenue, I don't know. The Brickboard seems to be doing both ads and donations so maybe you could keep the ad revenue for the business and give Matt the donations so he could buy more Volvos and fix his Jaguar. :-)