Author Topic: Solar panel question....  (Read 4696 times)

windstuffnow

Solar panel question....
« on: August 03, 2004, 02:46:19 PM »
  I've added some solar panels to my system and just purchased 4 more used ones.  The used ones don't have diodes installed.

Do they have to have diodes in them?  They will be wired paralell for 12V charging and going through a Xantrax C60 controller.  Doesn't the controller have blocking diodes in place so the batteries don't discharge into the panels at night?  That being the case there wouldn't be a need for the diodes in the panels... correct?

What is the difference between "blocking" or "bypass" diodes as it relates to solar panels.  I've seen both mentioned but don't quite understand the difference.   One blocks the reversal of current and one blocks the current from other panels if one is shaded?

As you can see I have little to no experience with solar panels.   I've had the first 3 on-line for about a month now but they don't deliver quite enough.

Anyway any help is appreciated....  Oh, and if they do require diodes, where can the 6amp diodes be purchased?

Have Fun

Windstuff Ed

« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 02:46:19 PM by (unknown) »
Windstuff Ed

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Solar panel question....
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2004, 03:28:08 PM »
Ed;

I'll tell you what I found when I first got mine and in reading since then plus a bit of experience.