Author Topic: 48 Volt Solar Panel System  (Read 6718 times)

WaltL

48 Volt Solar Panel System
« on: November 07, 2004, 01:29:43 PM »
Hello everyone

First let me say that these boards are the greatest and you guys seem to really know what you're talking about. I'm new to this solar thing but have found that if I want to have electricity where I am planning on building (several miles from electric lines) then I must learn solar/wind.

Anyway I have started with 15 50 watt 48 volt solar panels I bought for about $100 each including shipping. I do have these questions about the panels... They are sold as 48 volt but say 78 volt on the labels and in sunlight they register about 95 volts?? Is that correct??

I was planning on placing the panels on the roof of a cabin I have where the house will be someday. I have chosen the roof because the cabin is not occupied all the time and I feel this would minimize vandalism or theft. I was planning on wiring the panels in parallell (48 volt).

I was planning on buying 4 12 volt deep cycle batteries at WalMart for about $60 each which I believe I would hook in series.

Items I still need (I think) would be perhaps: 1) Lightning arrestor hooked to the frames of the panels? 2) 48 volt charge controller between the panels and the batteries? 3) Some kind of fuses between the batteries and the service lines.

Should I get a 48 volt inverter (rather expensive) or could I use 4 12 volt inverters on each battery?? Also, I do use 12 volts for some applications in the cabin now. Can I tap off one of the 12 volt batteries even though the 4 are hooked in series.

Also what organization regulates and controls solar panel installation and where would I find their specs??

How's that for some stupid questions??

Thanks for your time and experitise

Walt

« Last Edit: November 07, 2004, 01:29:43 PM by (unknown) »

srnoth

Re: 48 Volt Solar Panel System
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2004, 08:04:36 PM »
Hey Walt,