Author Topic: crazy idea with solar cells  (Read 2783 times)

Stynus

crazy idea with solar cells
« on: June 21, 2005, 05:54:00 PM »
I was thinking about buying solar cells of 20Watts but then i was thinking about a 2W solar panel that i have in my shack.

If I get an old sattelite dish and place peaces of mirror on it and i place te solar cell in the fire point would i get a higher power output then?

sorry for my bad english

« Last Edit: June 21, 2005, 05:54:00 PM by (unknown) »

mlt2

Re: crazy idea with solar cells
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2005, 12:01:31 PM »
Hello, I am new to the whole solar power idea. But from what I hear the added heat will lower the output of the cells a lot. Also I have been told the added heat will kill the solar cells a lot faster. From what I have read solar cells really don't like temps over 80-100f. Please don't make fun of me if I am wrong. This is just what I have read.

Mike
« Last Edit: June 21, 2005, 12:01:31 PM by mlt2 »

pyrocasto

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2005, 12:20:56 PM »
Mlt, no one's here to make fun of you, your right. Solar cells hate heat, but they get in the high 100s, so 80-100F is a little low.

Stynus, it would work, but yes it would kill the cell almost instantly probably. If you could figure out a way to keep it under 200 degrees, it should work, at least a little bit.

They have something called a concentrator cell for this type of thing, which is built into a heatsink that you pump liquid through to cool it.

« Last Edit: June 21, 2005, 12:20:56 PM by pyrocasto »

JW

• Development Manager
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Flashsteam.com
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2005, 12:24:42 PM »