Author Topic: Solar panel output  (Read 1148 times)

amiklic1

Solar panel output
« on: January 13, 2006, 09:34:44 AM »
Since I don't have any comercial built solar panels, I would like someone to post the comment about this.

I use few 50 watts panels to charge my batteries. Now, we are talking of JUST ONE! Others are disconnected from the system for the testing purpose.

First, about the panel:

It consists 36 WB 29 cells from Plastecs. They are rated 1.8 to 2.0 Amps and 0.57 to 0.6 Volts.

If I calculate from that, I can get:

Voc would be 20.52 to 21.6 Volts

I (?) would be 1.8 to 2.0 Amps.

So, that panel is rated 37 to 43 Watts.

Is that right?

I can see commercial built panels have max power voltage of 17 Volts. Would the current be higher if I put the panel to 24 Volts battery?

« Last Edit: January 13, 2006, 09:34:44 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Solar panel output
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2006, 03:12:06 AM »
I am no expert on solar panels, but yours seem very close to most commercial ones.

The take the rating at the point that gives maximum power. In your case it is also likely to be near 17v.

The standard rating is at an insolation power of 1000W/sq M. you probably won't be able to measure this and in some climates you may having trouble ever seeing it.

They load them to the point where the product of volts and amps is a maximum and use that point as maximum power.

With 36 cells you will not get any output into 24V unless the battery was flat.

The 17v point is chosen to handle a fully charged 12v battery with a bit of line loss and with some panel heating, that tends to reduce output.

You would likely have a rating of about 35W.

Flux

« Last Edit: January 13, 2006, 03:12:06 AM by Flux »

iFred

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2006, 11:14:13 AM »