Author Topic: need some opinions  (Read 1724 times)

who8myrice

need some opinions
« on: July 12, 2006, 05:39:06 AM »
ok so this is the deal.

Im completely new to this type of stuff, i really dont have access to any metal and i only have limited power tools. I dont need a gigantic system, only a solar panel, maybe two, and one 12 volt deep cycle battery, im only trying to power a tree house far from any power sources. I found a cheap brief case solar panel on ebay (link to a picture below) and a deep cycle battery there also for only $40.

Solar panel:

http://cgi.ebay.com/12V-Briefcase-Solar-Panel-Generator_W0QQitemZ190007731471QQihZ009QQcategoryZ3240

QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

However, i found this wind turbine kit (i would build one on my own but as i said, no access to steel or welder or any sort of welder)Its $95 and it puts out a little over 100 watts and about 15+ volts.

It reaches around 100 watts in very low wind.. about 15-20 miles per hour and where i live, there is a constant 5-10mph breeze, with constant gusts up to 20=30 mph. Below is the link to the kit.

Kit:

http://www.velacreations.com/chispito.html

Im probably going to hook up a 300 watt inverter (yeah i know its a lot for the battery to handle but we will only be using it for an hour or two at a time, giving it a chance to recharge) and run a small TV and maybe an xbox, maybe even a minifridge (obviously not all at once, and i might buy two batteries)

I'm trying tofind the cheapest, most efficient way to power my tree house. I thank you for your time and future help

-Nate

« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 05:39:06 AM by (unknown) »

henjulfox

Re: need some opinions
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 06:49:21 AM »
Couple of quick observations:

1. That's a fair to good price for the solar panel. However it looks pretty cheaply made. I have my doubts it would hold up long out in the weather.