Author Topic: Efficiency of the repair of solar cells  (Read 1657 times)

poprox198

Efficiency of the repair of solar cells
« on: February 10, 2009, 02:40:54 PM »
I am a college student performing a design project on the subject of photovoltaic cell repair. The purpose in creating this entry would be to collect data upon the opinions of the members of this forum when it comes to the question of repair. The question I would like to ask is if it is more cost efficient to repair a solar cell, or to replace it. Information on output efficiency and total costs would be appreciated.  
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 02:40:54 PM by (unknown) »

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: Efficiency of the repair of solar cells
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 08:05:56 AM »
It might be helpful to distinguish between repairing/replacing individual cells (within a panel/module) rather than whole panels/modules which would normally be the field-replacable unit IMHO.

I should imagine that many types of panels/modules would not take at all kindly to being opened up.

Rgds

Damon

« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 08:05:56 AM by DamonHD »
Podcast: https://www.earth.org.uk/SECTION_podcast.html

@DamonHD@mastodon.social

electronbaby

• Windsine.org
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 02:37:11 PM »
Modules can be "opened up". They need to be uniformly heated to remove the laminant backing and encapsulant. Manufacturers are doing this as we speak on past failed lots of modules and reselling or replacing defective units in the field.

The need for this usually is not too often and modules for the most part are pretty durable. Ground faults, lightning hits, and other electrical failures/shorts dont usually hurt PV modules unless there are many strings back-feeding into a single string. This usually makes the bypass diodes fail.