Author Topic: My first project  (Read 3070 times)

who8myrice

My first project
« on: July 13, 2006, 09:46:52 PM »
Hello everyone,

This is pretty much my 3rd time posting on the boards, and im still extremely new to this type of stuff, especially the battery part.

I know this is kind of sad that I dont know this, but can someone tell me why 10.00 volts in a 12v battery is considered extremely low? and also, if its not at 12v, how can the inverter still run 12v appliances?

second, im going to simply go to the scrap yard and buy like 10 batteries for around $10 each. I know deep cycle batteries, such as 6v golf cart batteries, are much better to use for storage, but im only powering a tree house (with a fair amont of electronics ;) ) and plus im using a wind generator so it will be running all night (its always extremely windy where i live) and constantly charging (definitely going to need a charge controller). So i was wondering, is there a way to test if the batteries i buy are good and are actually going to charge?

and last but not least, could someone plz give me a picture or explain to me how you connect multiple batteries together? this would be greatly appreciated!

I thanky you in advance for your time!

« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 09:46:52 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 04:01:37 PM by kurt »

Volvo farmer

Re: My first project
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 05:40:58 PM »
I think it would be foolish to spend $100 on old car batteries. Brand new 6 volt TRUE deep-cycle batteries were less than $60 each at Sam's club last time I checked. You put ten old car batteries in parallel for 12V, you're going to have nothing but problems.

I would recommend, before you spend a dime on this project, to spend about two weeks reading everything you can find on the 'net about these subjects. All the information is out there.

« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 05:40:58 PM by Volvo farmer »
Less bark, more wag.

wdyasq