Author Topic: What should I use?  (Read 3477 times)

who8myrice

What should I use?
« on: July 14, 2006, 02:55:55 AM »
hello everyone,

I apologize for asking so many obvious questions (obvious for you that is) but I really need to know. What should I use as battery connectors? should I use a car jumper? should I just by heavy duty copper wire? i checked eBay and Froogle and i found nothing useful.

Also, whats a good charge controller for a 9 amp/hour, 12volt, 100watt wind generator?

Again, im sorry for asking so many questions, but im new to this stuff and I dont want to waste money, or have a crummy set up.

« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 02:55:55 AM by (unknown) »

who8myrice

Re: What should I use?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 09:03:02 PM »
Oops, forgot to ask how heavy duty (what kind) of wire i should use to run the line from the genny to the charge controller

again, srry for the questions :/

« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 09:03:02 PM by who8myrice »

henjulfox

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 09:44:55 PM »
The short answer to what size wire to use is the largest you can afford.

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

This link goes to a nice chart of wire size and the recomended amp capacity. If you try to save money by getting wire that is too small you will waste generated electricity in the wire and potentially create a fire hazard.

Batteries in a RE system typically charge at a slow rate for a long period of time and discharge at a high rate for a short period of time. Therefore smaller wire can be used for the charging circuit (wind gen to battery) but larger wire must be used for the output (battery to inverter).