Author Topic: Just getting started; Trojan T205 batteries  (Read 2886 times)

tjspears

Just getting started; Trojan T205 batteries
« on: September 24, 2006, 03:56:14 AM »
I am just getting started planning for some backup capacity for when the local grid is down, this may expand to later to decrease our daily dependency on the grid or remove it entirely.

I am in the process of figuring out what we want to run, and how much power it will require.

I have a coworker that has two Trojan T205 batteries he is replacing. They are about 10 years old, were in stalled in his trailer. When new they were 210Ah 20hr. He is willing to let me have them for free, is there any reason I shouldn't take him up on this?

--James.

« Last Edit: September 24, 2006, 03:56:14 AM by (unknown) »

Phssthpok

Re: Just getting started; Trojan T205 batteries
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2006, 10:13:54 PM »
Depending on how they were treated they could either be a lost cause (worst case scenario) or just about to begin ending their useable life (I hear 15 years is a good run for these). At 10 yrs old it's a gamble as to whether or not you'll get much use out of them, but as far as I know you won't HURT anything by hooking it up to dead battereis (unless it's a new and or prefectly good battery you're attaching). They just won't hold any useable charge for decent amount of time is all if they are in fact dead.

Also...are you sure they are T-205? I thought Trojan only had the T-105, and T-125 in that size range. The specs sound like a 105 to me.

« Last Edit: September 23, 2006, 10:13:54 PM by Phssthpok »

jimjjnn

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2006, 07:07:27 AM »
I would imagine that ten years may have those batteries at the end of their useful life. Others on the board here may have more info.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2006, 07:07:27 AM by jimjjnn »

scottsAI

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2006, 10:54:44 AM »
Hello James,