Author Topic: anyone know much about grundfos sqflex submersible pumps  (Read 4560 times)

BullCreek

anyone know much about grundfos sqflex submersible pumps
« on: July 13, 2006, 11:08:25 PM »
The title says it all.  I'm a retired engineer who bought a ranch near where I grew up in Texas.  We have several old windmills that are worn out/falling down and in need of replacing or alot of maintenance above and beyond the regular maintenance which is plenty, particularly because they are in hard to get to locations.  I like submersible pumps for their maintenance free nature, and have been looking at the grundfos sqflex line.  I called the local distributor today, and while he had some knowledge, it was mostly of just their canned solar solution.

To get the amount of water I need, he wanted to sell me 8 110 watt grundfos panels @ $1275 each, then two 4 panel trackers at $1700 each.  The grundfos panels are special in that they are high voltage ( can't remember, but I think he said around 100 volts).  Seems like a ridiculous amount of $$$ per watt to me though.

I'm wondering about just using some normal 12 volt panels in series or a DanB style wind turbine.  Grundfos use to sell a SWP H80 900 watt turbine kit, but the distributor said they had discontinued it, because it often went over the 300 volt maximum the pump allows and fried the motor.  According to the spec sheet for the pump:

Operating voltage range = 30-300VDC

Max power consumption = 900W

Max current = 7A

I have six BP125 12V panels I could use as a test, which in series would give 72V nominal and around 140Voc.  Their Imp is 7.1A which is just a tad higher than the 7A listed above.  The pump says it has a built in MPPT so I assume it would pump just as much water at 72V as it would at the 100V or so the grunfos panels put out in parallel, total watts available being equal.  Cost wise, this would be much more affordable, something along the lines of: