Author Topic: Ram Pump Help  (Read 3714 times)

Kevin Mckee

Ram Pump Help
« on: March 24, 2007, 02:21:22 AM »
ok, I've been researching ram pumps on and off for a couple of years now,(more off than on) and am thinking about them again. here is my problem most designs I have found are for higher flow, low drop situations, 1 gpm min.  here is what I have to work with. the cabin is on a hillside.

1/2 gpm year round from a spring at cabin level.  25 foot drop to bottom of the hill.

tank at the top of the hill, 40 feet above the cabin, or 65 feet above the bottom of the hill.  is this workable with a ram pump?  i know it won't deliver much water, but I

don't need much, and am away a lot, giving the tank time to fill.

ps, current system is a shurflo that will serve as a backup for the new system.

« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 02:21:22 AM by (unknown) »

stephent

Re: Ram Pump Help
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2007, 07:53:53 PM »
« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 07:53:53 PM by stephent »

Nando

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2007, 09:33:15 PM »
Your problem is the Ram Pump losses, which for you, is about 8 to 12.

So for each gallon in the upper tank you will need about 8 to 12 gallon from the spring.

I think that you have the best arrangement right now, of course, you have a good electric pump and if you have two tanks, one at the spring and the upper tank with a level detector in the lower tank to turn the pump when full, if the upper tank needs filling.

Also, how to solve the low water volume available for proper ram pump, which in this case You can put a tank at the spring to fill, like a 55 gallon tank, then you use a siphon to start the water going down to the ram pump to operate until the tank is empty when the siphon does not work anymore.

The ram needs to be small and well made.

A preferable system would be a dual bi-directional pump set up, which operates without the need of a tank or siphon and may pump once a minute when enough water is in the pump pipe.

Nando