Author Topic: Small VAWT: what bearings to use?  (Read 10918 times)

JeroenH

Small VAWT: what bearings to use?
« on: July 12, 2004, 10:48:51 AM »
I want to build a small VAWT, I would like to start with a savonius en if that works out I might have a go at a darrius. Anyway, I have lots of R/C modelling experience so I'm not afraid of woodwork and some light metalwork. But what I can't figure out is this: where can I get bearings for a wind turbine? The first attempt will probably have a 5 or 6mm axle but I have no idea where I could get bearings.

I would be more than happy with something in the range of 5..10 Watts @ 12V, any ideas on how big I should make things? Diameter/height? How many magnets & coils to use? How many windings in a coil? Wire thickness?

Thanks in advance!

« Last Edit: July 12, 2004, 10:48:51 AM by (unknown) »

Dutch

Re: Small VAWT: what bearings to use?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2004, 11:28:08 AM »
The size of the bearing for a VAWT depends on the design. You can use two bearings, one at the bottom and one at the top, or just one single bearing at the bottom. When you use a single bearing it has to be a strong one. I prefer the design with a single bearing and I am experimenting with it. You can see some pictures on http://www.windwerk.nl under 'Zelfbouw'. I used for these windturbines the bearing of the back wheel of a Fiat Panda. And this because it's fastened with bolts on the chassis. So it's easy to get one.

But you are working on a different scale. I suggest you use the bearing of a washing-machine - the type that has only one single bearing. They are cheap and easy to get - new or second handed.

Succes.

« Last Edit: July 12, 2004, 11:28:08 AM by Dutch »

wdyasq

Rollerblade
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2004, 12:33:17 PM »
Rollerblades and skateboards have nice small bearings.

Ron

« Last Edit: July 12, 2004, 12:33:17 PM by wdyasq »
"I like the Honey, but kill the bees"

baggo

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2004, 12:45:34 PM »