Author Topic: single phase conversion  (Read 957 times)

windrules

single phase conversion
« on: September 13, 2004, 05:56:09 PM »
Hi guys I have been flying my 3/4 hp single phase genny for a few months with using just the run windings,each winding to a rectifier then paralleled and seriesed the rectifiers to DC. I pulled 13 amps at 12 volts at about 25mph winds.Last night I soldered wires onto all the start windings and now have 8 pairs of wires 4 pairs a different colour for mains and 4 for starts,all outside the can.Now comes the question, to determine series and parralell windings can I put the jenny in a lathe and work it all out with a voltage meter by picking 2 start windings and check the voltage of one at operating speed, then select the combination to double voltage? I assume but could be wrong that if the voltage here drops to nothing or near nothing I would have it backwards and just reverse 1 wire to get it right.Then to do the parrallel thing the voltage should remain the same.I think I should this way eliminate 3 rectifiers whick should give me better output.Then do the same with start windings and parrallel the two together and hopefully get about 20 amps from same machine.

Hope this makes sense and want to know if this is right!!

Thanks again and best regards,

Mos
« Last Edit: September 13, 2004, 05:56:09 PM by (unknown) »

Jerry

Re: single phase conversion
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2004, 08:33:18 PM »
Hi Mos.

Is your motor 120 v?

The lathe idea is a good one. Chuck it up in the lathe and check the voltages from the starts.

In some motors there are 2 large start windings and 2 small. If this is the case with yours you'll get 2 coils reading twice the voltage of the other 2.

Next step then is to perelell the 2 large windings, then siries the 2 small windings. After siriesing the 2 smalls perelell those with the 2 large.

This will be = to 3 large start windings in perelell.